A project
for the design
of social inclusion,
participation
and empowerment

A project for the design
of social inclusion,
participation and empowerment

A pluralist democracy offers space for the visibility of minorities as well as their social participation and empowerment. However, this comes with challenges. The ambivalences of past integration strategies must be addressed and a mutual sensitization of all people participating in society must be sought. Given the polarization of society in recent years, migrants, refugees and other marginalized groups continue to be systematically excluded from society. In order to counteract this and achieve respectful coexistence, it is important to also understand and address the fears and insecurities of the multicultural host society. Accordingly, the Culture Coaches have taken on the task of sensitizing the host society as well as new immigrants to inclusive coexistence through a mutual cultural exchange and knowledge transfer.

Culture Coaches is a project for the promotion of transculturality through a mutual exchange of culture and values.
Transculturality refers to the progressive dissolution of rigid cultural categories in a diverse society and the emergence of individual identities through the mixing of different influences.

 

The Culture Coaches have themselves experienced flight or migration, are multilingual, and have been shaped by various cultural influences. Through their targeted work with immigrants from different countries of origin, as well as with the host society, the Culture Coaches make an innovative contribution in the field of integration – in favor of a diverse, open and democratic coexistence. Their work serves not only to anticipate, recognize, and guide conflicts, but also to empower all people to see themselves as full and active agents of society.

Transcultural coaching of the host society and the new arrivals

The project serves to disseminate transcultural competencies. The goals are the general cultural sensitization as well as the dissemination of knowledge and methods for an inclusive coexistence. On the one hand, it is important to sensitize the host society to the experiences and concerns of the newcomers (see Transcultural Competencies in Asylum Processing – Counseling and Qualification), and on the other hand, to prepare the newcomers for a self-determined life in Germany. The Culture Coaches always work in a need- and solution-oriented manner, offering assistance in the form of individual case counseling and process support as well as conducting workshops and leading seminars. Designated areas of operation include public authorities, shelters for refugees, educational institutions and commercial enterprises.

 

 

Zohre Esmaeli woman with black hair sitting in a colorful patterned jacket and yellow pants in front of a blue background

A project of the
Zohre Esmaeli
Foundation

A project of the
Zohre Esmaeli
Foundation

Giving up was never an option. The Zohre Esmaeli Foundation gGmbH was founded in 2018 by Zohre Esmaeli under the motto: „Understanding each other – living with one another“ As a teenager, she herself fled from Afghanistan to Germany with her family in a six-month journey via the former Soviet states and Eastern European countries. Later she had to flee her family a second time.

About Us

Since 2019, the goal of the Culture Coaches has been to create a transcultural and solidary togetherness and to consistently oppose any kind of discrimination and misanthropy.

The Culture Coaches have a migration or refugee background themselves, are multilingual, and know the socio-cultural realities of Germany as well as their cultures of origin. They are intensively trained in political and cultural education, conflict management, prevention of discrimination, didactic methods, migration law and historical background knowledge. Free from religious perspectives and dogmatic thinking, they support people on the path to self-empowerment and self-determination, promote diversity and respect for human rights.

The Culture Coaches want to break the hegemonic migration discourse and show that migrants and refugees are not „victims“ of structural conditions in need of help. Participation in society as people with experience of flight and migration can only take place through emancipation. For this to happen, people must develop their own agency, empower themselves, and articulate their rights in an equal manner.

Areas in which
we are active

Areas in which we are active

Volunteering

Flight and asylum

Public authorities

Empowerment
of women

Police &
Justice

Labor

Health

Education

Sports

flying blue birds

Culture Coaches

  • is committed to communicating democratic values
  • understands the cultures of new arrivals and people already living here
  • is multilingual
  • offers role models and mentors
  • helps in a solution-oriented way in case of conflicts
  • stands by in emergency situations
  • supports the host society as well as new immigrants in transcultural integration
 

Together we achieve
we achieve more!

Together we achieve
we achieve more!

Statements

Due to its convincing transcultural integration approach the Cultures Coaches project was identified as particularly innovative and sustainable.“

avatar

Ottilie Balz

Robert Bosch Foundation

Zohre Esmaeli ist ein schönes Symbol dafür, wie Integration und Grenzüberwindung gelingen kann. Und ein leuchtendes Beispiel allen, die den Spagat zwischen verschiedenen Kulturen schaffen müssen. Das leistet sie mit beeindruckender Kompetenz und ansteckendem Engagement, aber auch mit angenehmer Lässigkeit und umwerfendem Charme.“

avatar

Florian Langenscheidt

publisher

Statements

Due to its convincing transcultural integration approach the Cultures Coaches project was identified as particularly innovative and sustainable.“

avatar

Ottilie Balz

Robert Bosch Foundation

Zohre Esmaeli is a beautiful symbol of how integration and overcoming borders can succeed, and a shining example to all those who have to manage the balancing act between different cultures. She accomplishes this with impressive competence and contagious commitment, but also with pleasant nonchalance and stunning charm.“

avatar

Florian Langenscheidt

publisher

Ein Projekt
zur Gestaltung von
gesellschaftlicher
Inklusion,Partizipation
und Empowerment

Ein Projekt zur Gestaltung
von gesellschaftlicher Inklusion,
Partizipation und Empowerment

Eine plurale Demokratie bietet Raum für die Sichtbarkeit von Minderheiten, ihre gesellschaftliche Teilhabe und Empowerment. Damit gehen jedoch Herausforderungen einher. Die Ambivalenzen der bisherigen Integration müssen angesprochen und eine wechselseitige Sensibilisierung aller an Gesellschaft teilhabenden Menschen angestrebt werden. Angesichts der gesellschaftlichen Polarisierung in den letzten Jahren werden Migrant:innen, Geflüchtete und andere marginalisierte Gruppen nach wie vor systematisch aus der Gesellschaft ausgeschlossen. Um dem entgegenzuwirken und ein respektvolles Miteinander zu erreichen, ist es wichtig, auch die Ängste und Unsicherheiten der multikulturellen Aufnahmegesellschaft zu verstehen und zu thematisieren. Entsprechend haben sich die Culture Coaches der Aufgabe angenommen, durch einen wechselseitigen Kulturaustausch und Wissensvermittlung die Aufnahmegesellschaft ebenso wie Neuzugewanderte für ein inklusives Miteinander zu sensibilisieren.

Culture Coaches ist ein Projekt zur Förderung von Transkulturalität über eine wechselseitige Kultur- und Wertevermittlung
Transkulturalität verweist dabei auf eine voranschreitende Auflösung starrer kultureller Kategorien in einer diversen Gesellschaft und das Entstehen individueller Identitäten durch Vermischung unterschiedlicher Einflüsse.

 

Die Culture Coaches haben selbst Flucht- bzw. Migrationserfahrungen, sind multilingual und geprägt durch verschiedene kulturelle Einflüsse. Durch die gezielte Arbeit mit Zugewanderten aus unterschiedlichen Herkunftsländern, sowie der aufnehmenden Gesellschaft leisten die Culture Coaches einen innovativen Beitrag im Feld der Integration – zu Gunsten eines vielfältigen, offenen und demokratischen Miteinanders. Ihre Arbeit dient nicht nur dazu, Konflikten zuvorzukommen, sie zu erkennen und zu lenken, sondern darüber hinaus auch alle Menschen dazu zu befähigen, sich als vollwertige und aktive Bestandteile der Gesellschaft zu verstehen.

Transkulturelles Coaching der Aufnahmegesellschaft und der Neuankommenden

Das Projekt dient der Verbreitung transkultureller Kompetenzen. Ziele sind die allgemeine kulturelle Sensibilisierung sowie die Verbreitung von Wissen und Methoden für ein inklusives Miteinander. Dabei gilt es einerseits die Aufnahmegesellschaft in Hinblick auf die Erfahrungen und Belange der Ankommenden zu sensibilisieren (siehe Transkulturelle Kompetenzen im Asylvervahren – Beratung und Qualifizierung), andererseits die Neuankommenden auf ein selbstbestimmtes Leben in Deutschland vorzubereiten. Die Culture Coaches arbeiten stets bedarfs- und lösungsorientiert, bieten Hilfe in Form von Einzelfallberatung und Prozessbegleitung an, führen Workshops durch und leiten Seminare. Zu den designierten Einsatzbereichen gehören öffentliche Behörden, Unterkünfte für Geflüchtete, Bildungseinrichtungen und wirtschaftliche Betriebe.

 

Zohre Esmaeli woman with black hair sitting in a colorful patterned jacket and yellow pants in front of a blue background

Ein Projekt der
Zohre Esmaeli
Foundation

Ein Projekt der
Zohre Esmaeli
Foundation

Aufgeben, war nie eine Option. Die Zohre Esmaeli Foundation gGmbH wurde 2018 unter dem Motto: „Einander verstehen – miteinander leben“ von Zohre Esmaeli gegründet. Sie ist als Jugendliche selbst mit ihrer Familie aus Afghanistan in einer sechs-monatigen Reise über die ehemaligen sowjetischen Staaten und osteuropäischen Länder nach Deutschland geflohen. Später musste sie ein zweites Mal aus ihrer Familie fliehen.

Über Uns

Seit 2019 ist es das Ziel der Culture Coaches, ein transkulturelles und solidarisches Miteinander zu schaffen und sich konsequent gegen jegliche Art von Diskriminierung und Menschenfeindlichkeit zu stellen.

Die Culture Coaches haben selbst Migrations- und Fluchterfahrungen, sind mehrsprachig und kennen die soziokulturellen Gegebenheiten Deutschlands wie auch der Herkunftskulturen. Sie sind intensiv geschult u.a. zur politischen- und kulturellen Bildung, Konfliktmanagement, Prävention von Diskriminierung, didaktischen Methoden, Migrationsrecht und historischem Hintergrundwissen. Frei von religiösen Perspektiven und dogmatischem Denken unterstützen sie Menschen auf dem Weg zur Selbstermächtigung und Selbstbestimmung, fördern Diversität und Achtung der Menschenrechte.

Die Culture Coaches möchten den hegemonialen Migrationsdiskurs aufbrechen und zeigen, dass Migrant:innen und Geflüchtete keine hilfsbedürftigen “Opfer” struktureller Bedingungen sind. Die Teilhabe an der Gesellschaft als Menschen mit Flucht- und Migrationserfahrung kann nur durch Emanzipation erfolgen. Dafür müssen Menschen in gleichberechtigter Weise ihre eigene Macht entwickeln, sich selbst ermächtigen und ihre Rechte artikulieren.

Bereiche, in denen
wir tätig sind

Bereiche, in denen wir tätig sind

Ehrenamt

Flucht und Asyl

Öffentliche Behörden

Frauen
Empowerment

Polizei &
Justiz

Arbeit

Gesundheit

Bildung

Sport

flying blue birds

Culture Coaches

  • vermittelt engagiert demokratische Werte
  • versteht die Kulturen von neu angekommenen und bereits hier lebenden Menschen
  • ist mehrsprachig
  • bietet Vorbilder und Mentor:innen
  • hilft lösungsorientiert im Fall von Konflikten
  • stehen bereit in Notfallsituationen
  • unterstützen die Aufnahmegesellschaft wie auch Neuzugewanderte bei der transkulturellen Integration
 

Gemeinsam erreichen
wir mehr!

Gemeinsam erreichen
wir mehr!

Statements

Aufgrund seines überzeugenden transkulturellen Integrationsansatzes wurde das Projekt Cultures Coaches als besonders innovativ und nachhaltig identifiziert.“

avatar

Ottilie Balz

Robert Bosch Foundation

Zohre Esmaeli ist ein schönes Symbol dafür, wie Integration und Grenzüberwindung gelingen kann. Und ein leuchtendes Beispiel allen, die den Spagat zwischen verschiedenen Kulturen schaffen müssen. Das leistet sie mit beeindruckender Kompetenz und ansteckendem Engagement, aber auch mit angenehmer Lässigkeit und umwerfendem Charme.“

avatar

Florian Langenscheidt

publisher

Statements

Aufgrund seines überzeugenden transkulturellen Integrationsansatzes wurde das Projekt Cultures Coaches als besonders innovativ und nachhaltig identifiziert.“

avatar

Ottilie Balz

Robert Bosch Foundation

Zohre Esmaeli ist ein schönes Symbol dafür, wie Integration und Grenzüberwindung gelingen kann. Und ein leuchtendes Beispiel allen, die den Spagat zwischen verschiedenen Kulturen schaffen müssen. Das leistet sie mit beeindruckender Kompetenz und ansteckendem Engagement, aber auch mit angenehmer Lässigkeit und umwerfendem Charme.“

avatar

Florian Langenscheidt

publisher